Gov. John Bel Edwards' office has announced he has been appointed to the Council of Governors by U.S. Pres. Barack Obama.

The governor's office said in a press release today that the council is a bipartisan body established to strengthen partnerships between the federal and state governments.

The council consists of the following governors from 10 states appointed by the president:

  • Governor Dannel Malloy, Connecticut, Co-Chair
  • Governor Terry Branstad, Iowa, Co-Chair
  • Governor John Bel Edwards, Louisiana
  • Governor Charlie Baker, Massachusetts
  • Governor Richard Snyder, Michigan
  • Governor Mark Dayton, Minnesota
  • Governor Steve Bullock, Montana
  • Governor Brian Sandoval, Nevada
  • Governor William Haslam, Tennessee
  • Governor Terry McAuliffe, Virginia


More From 107 JAMZ