What Is The Legal Age to Leave A Child Home Alone In Louisiana?
This is something that has been around for years. When are kids able to be left at home by themselves? Many parents these days face this dilemma more than anything because of their work schedules and other obligations that sometimes don't permit them much choice.
So I decided to do a little research on my own and see what the legal age is for children in Louisiana. The National SAFE KIDS Campaign recommends that adults not leave children at home alone before the age of 12. However, Louisiana does have a set age that 10 years old is old enough to leave a child alone. As a child, I always had someone in the house with me during the times my mother had to work or take care of personal things. As I got older I eventually got to an age where I could stay by myself but often it never came to be. As I became a parent, this was something that my wife and I would discuss for our son. When we first moved here, we didn't have any family here so many of the times he would go with us. This lasted until he was old enough to stay and that was only for a couple of hours before one of us was back at home.
Regardless of what the law says or even what experts think about the issue. It is best to know your children and decide for yourself what works best for your children. If you do feel like your child is mature enough at 10 years old to stay by themselves. You may want to ease into it by maybe leaving them for an hour or two just to get you and them both comfortable with your decision.
We all know that life happens, but you don't want to make a decision that could be detrimental to you or your children's well-being. Visit Safe Kids.Org for more details on how to keep your kids safe.