Head coach of the LSU Tigers football program Les Miles, has been named the 2011 Associated Press Coach of the Year.

Les received 30 of the 56 votes to win the honor. Bill Snyder of Kansas State was second with 16, Mike Gundy of Oklahoma State was third with six.

Miles has led the LSU Tigers to a 13-0 record and a birth in the national championship game on January 9th in New Orleans against Alabama.

Les Miles

Here is your 107 Jamz sports minute:

Here is how the complete voting went:

Thirty of 56 votes cast went to Miles. Bill Snyder of Kansas State was second with 16, Mike Gundy of Oklahoma State had six, Brady Hoke of Michigan got three and Lane Kiffin of Southern California had one.



Now what was impressive about Les Miles season so far is the way the Tigers won their games.  I was reading over the stats and one really stood out to me.  It shows just how dominating the LSU Tigers have been over their opponents.  Check this stat out.

Of their 13 victories, 12 have come by double digits and seven by 30 or more points. The lone exception was a tense 9-6 overtime triumph at Alabama highlighted by spectacular defensive plays.

LSU won its first eight games with pocket passer Jarrett Lee taking most of the snaps, and the rest with Jordan Jefferson getting the bulk of the work, often running option plays.


Congrats to Coach Les Miles and to the LSU Tigers on a great season so far.  LSU will face Alabama on Monday January 9th in the BCS National Championship game in New Orleans.

More From 107 JAMZ